coastllka.blogg.se

Ubuntu check temperature
Ubuntu check temperature







ubuntu check temperature

This means that as long as the CPU temperature stays below this threshold, the chip doesn’t get damaged. The design of the Raspberry PI 4 board and the selection of its components allow the CPU to run fine up to 85 degrees Celsius. But how do you know for sure if this is needed? In this case active cooling by means of a fan could be required. However, this might not be enough if you place the board in some sort of housing. When running the board in the open air, without an enclosure, gluing a few passive heat-sinks on the black chips suffices. The Raspberry PI board has a harder time dissipating CPU chip generated heat. Raspberry PI 4 heat generationĪs it turns out, all the wonderful new processing power the quad-core 64-bit 1.5 GHz Cortex-A72 CPU offers, comes at a price. With this in mind, I touched the black Broadcom BCM2711 chip and thought “Ouch”. Since I didn’t connect the fan, I figured I should probably double-check that the chip doesn’t run too hot. After playing around with the Raspberry PI 4 through an SSH session and configuring it such that I can login with an SSH key, I opened the enclosure. When I saw the fan, I though to myself “Wait, why would I need a fan? Surely a fan is superfluous”. Included in the packaging of the enclosure were a few passive heat-sinks and a fan. To make the board more appealing to look at and to protect it, I placed the Raspberry PI 4 in plastic enclosure. After all, I wanted to verify the presence of the full 4 GB of RAM. The first command I ran was of course htop. With raised excitement levels, I booted the Raspberry PI 4 for the first time. All ready to setup the Raspberry PI 4 as a headless server. In a matter of minutes my micro SD-card contained the Raspbian Lite image. BackgroundĪfter my newly ordered Raspberry PI 4 board arrived in the mail, I dropped everything to take it for a spin. You can use these to build functionality into your own software programs for monitoring the Raspberry PI CPU temperature. This article presents you with code snippets in several programming languages for obtaining the Raspberry PI CPU temperature. Noticed that the Raspberry PI 4 runs a bit hotter than previous models? That is the unfortunate side effect of packing an increased amount of processing power in the same small board form factor.









Ubuntu check temperature